Monday, January 14, 2013

Get Lost With Julie Kenner!

Folks, please help me welcome Julie Kenner
back to our little home on the web!

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Julie Kenner (aka J. Kenner and J.K. Beck) has published over forty novels, novellas and short stories in a variety of genres.  Praised by Publishers Weekly as an author with a “flair for dialogue and eccentric characterizations,” J.K.  is also a two-time RITA finalist, the winner of Romantic Times‘ Reviewer’s Choice Award for Best Contemporary Paranormal of 2001, the winner of the Reviewers International Organization’s award for best romantic suspense of 2004 and best paranormal of 2005, and the winner of the National Readers’ Choice Award for best mainstream book of 2005. She writes a range of stories including sexy and quirky romances, young adult novels, chick lit suspense and paranormal mommy lit. Her foray into the latter, Carpe Demon: Adventures of a Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom by Julie Kenner, is in development as a feature film with 1492 Pictures. Her current book, Release Me by J. Kenner, is a New York Times and USA Today bestseller and has sold to over a dozen territories/sub-rights. Julie lives in Central Texas, with her husband, two daughters, and several cats.

For fans of Fifty Shades of Grey and Bared to You comes an erotic, emotionally charged romance between a powerful man who’s never heard “no” and a fiery woman who says “yes” on her own terms.
He was the one man I couldn’t avoid. And the one man I couldn’t resist.

Damien Stark could have his way with any woman. He was sexy, confident, and commanding: Anything he wanted, he got. And what he wanted was me.

Our attraction was unmistakable, almost beyond control, but as much as I ached to be his, I feared the pressures of his demands. Submitting to Damien meant I had to bare the darkest truth about my past—and risk breaking us apart.

But Damien was haunted, too. And as our passion came to obsess us both, his secrets threatened to destroy him—and us—forever.

Release Me is an erotic romance intended for mature audiences.






And now for the Q & A...

ALEXA: Who's your favorite villain?
JULIE: Oh, what a great question. I’m going to go with Hans Gruber from Die Hard. On the one hand, I just love Alan Rickman, but it’s more than that. I like that he’s smart, because if the villain isn’t clever there’s lessto admire about the hero.  So your hero can best a doofas; big deal.  But if your hero bests a villain who is brilliant—possibly even more brilliant than the hero?  Well, that not only says a lot about your hero, but it makes for some truly kickass drama.

ALEXA: Is there a Blooper in your story (it may have been changed before printing)?
JULIE: Nothing major. I’m just finishing up Claim Me right now, and I was halfway through before I realized I was writing a minor character with a name that I’d changed in Release Me before turning it in.  But that hardly counts as the poor guy didn’t even get enough screen time to qualify for his SAG card J

A fan ran across a blooper in one of my Demon Hunting Soccer Mom books after the book.  A character who was dead appeared in scene as was having coffee with Kate.  Obviously, I meant another character, whose name begins with the same letter.  But no one—not me, not my critique partners, not my editor, not the copyeditor, not the proofreader—caught the error.  Fortunately, it only appears in the trade paperback edition!  It was fixed before the mass market version came out and it’s not in the digital release!

 ALEXA: Be honest, when you put yourself in the heroines role?
JULIE: Hmmm.  I don’t know how many of the folks reading this interview have read Release Me, but let’s just say that, honestly, why wouldn’t I put myself in Nikki’s shoes? Ah, Damien …

ALEXA: What is your favorite tradition from your childhood that you would love to pass on or did pass on to your children?
JULIE: You know, I don’t really have any traditions from childhood.  I was an only child raised by a single mom, and I can’t remember any daily or holiday traditions, probably in part because I never seemed to spend the holidays in the same place, what with traveling to see my dad on alternating holidays.

About the closest we had to a tradition was eating nachos on Christmas Eve, but even that wasn’t as regular as a tradition should be.  And though I’ve tried it with my kids, only one of my girls actually likes nachos! (Oh, the horror!)

But we do have a fun meal and watch a movie on Christmas Eve.  And when they lose a tooth, I leave very elaborate note from toothfairies in training.  Mostly, we just have a lot of fun together as a family!

ALEXA: Do you read reviews of your books? If so, do you pay any attention to them, or let them influence your writing?
JULIE: Sometimes.

I don’t tend to read reviews on Amazon or Barnes & Noble, because although I am so incredibly appreciative of readers who leave reviews (it really is important for helping make a book “discoverable,” so thank you to everyone who takes the time!), checking reviews and numbers and the like ultimately is like running on a hamster wheel—it doesn’t get you anywhere.  Much better to be writing that next book!

But when I have a situation like Release Me where a number of galleys were provided to allow for early reads, then yes, I did read the reviews because I used quotes from the early reviews to promote the book pre-release.

Which is the long way of saying: Sometimes I read them.  Do they influence my writing?  Not in the way I think you mean, as in, a review isn’t going to change the way I write a character or the way I have a plot planned out.  But if I run across several reviews all saying that they would love X’s story, then I will certainly consider doing X’s story if I hadn’t already planned to.  Or maybe let X star in a novella.  That kind of thing.

 ALEXA: What dreams have been realized as a result of your writing?
JULIE: I’m cheating a tiny bit on this answer because we would have done it even without the income from writing, but I was able to use the option money from a film deal to pay for the airfare, hotel, and other expenses associated with traveling to China to adopt my youngest daughter and then pay for her cleft palate repair surgery.  So I guess the dream of adopting a second child and starting her surgical treatment without ending up with credit card debt was realized!

ALEXA: What's your favorite kid joke?
JULIE: knock knock – who’s there?
banana – banana who?
knock knock – who’s there?
banana – banana who?
knock knock – who’s there?
banana – banana who?
knock knock – whose there?
orange – orange who?
Orange you glad I didn’t say banana?

ALEXA: Which era would you least like to have lived in, fashion-wise and why? Most?
JULIE: The 1940s or 1950s.  I love the women’s clothes from back then.  Flared skirts, tight waists.  And hats! I love hats!

 ALEXA: Got a question you'd like to ask your fans?
JULIE: What’s your favorite kind of story to get lost in?
ALEXA: Folks, Julie is offering a $15 gift card from Amazon, B&N or iTunes for one lucky commenter, so get busy answering! 
ALEXA: Well, Julie, I'm going to let you get back to work. Thanks for visiting with us today!
JULIE: Thanks so much for having me!!


  1. I love to get lost in an historical read. I don't mind the era, in fact surprise me. Throw in some adventure & I'm very happy.


  2. Julie, welcome to Get Lost in a Story. Wonderful interview, thanks, Alexa. Okay, please educate me. What is SAG? Great advice on reviews and your hamster wheel, I may quote you! Best wishes with your new release!

  3. Thanks for stopping by! SAG is the Screen Actors Guild. I'm not an actor, but I believe you have to have a speaking role to get a "card" and be a member!

  4. I love getting lost in a good Urban Fantasy or Paranormal Romance. There is something that just draws me in to the world of "not-possible". I have always been a day-dreamer and these types of books suck me in and hold me captive. :) Great Interview!

    Thank you for the awesome giveaway too :)

    P.s--- Totally love your books

  5. I like any book that I can "get lost" in....If I can't fell the chracters emotions, its not a good read in my opinion.
    kim86004 at gmail dot com

  6. I like to get lost in a mystery / romance story filled with lots of emotion.

    yenastone at aol dot com

  7. Thanks for the interview Julie it was great ! I love to get list in a great love story I think they really are the best.

  8. Thanks for the interview. This book has been added to my TBR list.

    Josette Schaber
    evanlea at gmail dot com

  9. Great interview, thank you. I get lost in romance, I like happy endings.


  10. Great interview - I love romance and UF - actually I love SciFi too and erotica and...yes I am an equal opportunity reader -

    kerryjcj AT verizon DOT net

  11. Great interview! I love romance and that is what I can get lost in. Love historical, contemporary, and western romance. I am not much on the paranormal but do read a few.

  12. Great Interview! Love Love Love your books Julie. I can't believe you have over 40! I need to start reading faster lol!

  13. Nice interview. Any book with a HEA


  14. Thanks for stopping by, everyone! Julie, thanks again for joining us. I always have fun interviewing you!

  15. I love historicals especially... but I like contemporary too... :) Anything with a HEA is good!

  16. Absolutely love Release Me and cant wait for the next one! And thanks so much for writing me back on Twitter!


  17. Nice interview. Can't wait for Claim Me!

  18. Absolutely Love Release Me - just finished it and I'm already reading it for the second time. I'm totally hooked!!! Can't wait for Claim Me and Complete Me. Thank you for keeping me in new smut... lol

  19. Great interview!

    There are a lot of different kinds of books that I love to get lost in. I would say 99.9% of the time, the story needs to have a HEA ending. I can think of one book I've read recently that didn't have the traditional HEA but it was still an awesome love story. I love series books but I usually get annoyed if the same characters get multiply books. I want those characters in other stories but I want to read about other people also getting their happily ever afters.

  20. I truly enjoyed Release Me. It was a story I easily got lost in

  21. Looking forward to reading it.

  22. I kind of love all kinds of stories, Julie! No matter the genre, a good one will take me out of myself and put me where the action is :) Thanks for writing stories that do take me away!

    f dot chen at comcast dot net

  23. Thank you to everyone for joining us. JESSICA KATZ, you are the winner of Julie's prize! Congratulations! Please email me at for the deets.