Friday, February 1, 2013

Crazy Thing Called Love


Today I'm excited to host my BFF and indispensable critique partner, the amazingly talented and award winning: Molly O'Keefe. :-)

Molly O’Keefe published her first Harlequin romance at age twenty-five and hasn’t looked back. She loves exploring each character’s road toward happily ever after. She’s won two Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice awards and the RITA for Best Novella in 2010.
Originally from a small town outside of Chicago, she now lives in Toronto, Canada, with her husband, two kids, and the largest heap of dirty laundry in North America.


In this poignant and deeply sensual new contemporary romance—perfect for readers of Susan Elizabeth Phillips and Rachel Gibson—Molly O’Keefe proves that lost loves don’t have to stay lost forever.

Dallas TV morning show host Madelyn Cornish is poised, perfect, and unflappable, from her glossy smile to her sleek professionalism. No one knows that her iron will guards a shattered heart and memories of a man she’s determined to lock out. Until that man shows up at a morning meeting like a bad dream: Billy Wilkins, sexy hockey superstar in a tailspin—still skating, still fighting, and still her ex-husband.

Now the producers want this poster child for bad behavior to undergo an on-air makeover, and Billy, who has nothing to lose, agrees to the project. It’s his only chance to get near Maddy again, and to fight for the right things this time around. He believes in the fire in Maddy’s whiskey eyes and the passion that ignites the air between them. This bad-boy heartbreaker wants a last shot to be redeemed by the only thing that matters: Maddy’s love.

Read and excerpt from Crazy Thing Called Love: HERE


Watch on Youtube: Here



MAUREEN: What really scares you?
MOLLY: Everything. Forgetting my kid at a store. Toronto drivers. Ice storms. But really, heights. I am really scared of heights.

MAUREEN: Who was your favorite teacher in grade school? Why?
MOLLY: I had a great string of grade school teachers. But Mrs. Jordal in fifth grade really stands out. She seemed to understand how awful math was for me, and how much I loved reading and writing and while encouraging me to be better in math, she didn't make me feel bad. I have a lot of bad feelings associated with math. I think in a previous life, math assaulted me.

MAUREEN: LOL. Do you believe in ghosts?
MOLLY: I totally believe in ghosts. Once in Florida at twilight after a great run on the beach, I thought I saw my Grandpa Allen, just standing in the shadows under a tree. And he was so clear, so totally there - that I burst into tears. Might have just been emotions from the run, but I like to believe he was there.

MAUREEN: Where in the world would you most like to visit?
MOLLY:  Well, our next big family vacation is out west to Banff and the Dinosaur park out there - where they found many of the fossils in North America. I'm very excited.

MAUREEN: What’s next for you as an author?
MOLLY: Oh, well, after Crazy Thing Called Love, I'm starting a new series. Wild Child comes out in October.

MAUREEN: Do shapeshifters exist?
MOLLY: No. Only ghosts and vampires - everyone knows that.

MAUREEN: :-) What’s your favorite cartoon character?
MOLLY: Right now my kids are on a Pink Panther run and Anteater and Ant are pretty funny.

MAUREEN: What hidden talents do you have?
MOLLY: I am really good at guessing the guest voices on The Simpsons. I can't figure out how to make any money at it.

MAUREEN: Oh, I can guess voices too! But more on commercials and animated movies. We need to figure out how to turn that talent into cash! 
What’s something you’d like to tell your fans?
MOLLY: Letters from readers are the most validating, exciting thing EVER. Even if it's a letter to say how much they hated the book. That someone was moved to take the time to write - it's amazing. Thank you to everyone who has ever written me a note.

MAUREEN: If you couldn’t be a writer anymore, what profession would you take up?
MOLLY: Social work or teacher.

MAUREEN: What’s the first thing you do when you finish writing a book?
MOLLY: Maureen and I used to go out for a drink, but we seemed to have stopped, or slowed down - which is a CRIME!!

MAUREEN: Yes, a serious crime!!! Call the drinks police! Lock us up in a bar until we learn our lesson!
Vampires or werewolves?
MOLLY: Vampires - I love Vampire books and TV shows, UNTIL the werewolf shows up.

MAUREEN: Did you belong to a clique in high school? Which one of the standard high school stereotypes did you best fit in to?
MOLLY: Our high school was a really standard midwest small town high school, so there were tons of cliques. And I was very firmly a drama/speech team kid (I would say nerd, but it hurts) however my dear friend was one of those girls who was friends with everyone. A cheerleader who dated a stoner, best friends with a theater nerd. She kept me cool. Or as cool as she could. It's funny to think about those years.


MAUREEN: Your heroes in your fabulous Crooked Creek Series are professional hockey players. Can you skate? Have you ever played hockey yourself?
MOLLY: HA! I actually just learned to skate. I'm pretty terrible. But my husband plays hockey. And I do like watching hockey. I love how the hockey guys are so real in interviews, these boys from small towns in Canada and Russia who are suddenly thrust into the spotlight for a sound bite. I love the guys that do it well, and the guys who are AWFUL at it.


MOLLY ASKS: Who is your favorite hockey player?


Molly is giving away the first two books in the Crooked Creek Series: Can’t Buy Me Love and Can’t Hurry Love

To enter, leave a blog comment, or use the rafflecopter widget for more entry options and more chances to win!

These books are awesome. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


  1. Good morning, Molly, great questions Maureen! You two better start celebrating with that drink after you finish a book. That's terrible that well, that you're not drinking, but that you're not celebrating together. Traditions like that are important.

    I know your fear of forgetting a kid, Molly. Real and visceral fear.

    As for hockey players. This coming from the person who watched Miracle three or four times while my foot was in a cast. Can I say the entire 1980 US Team, and before they recruited pro players to play? That's my vote. Thanks for joining us today.

  2. I am a huge hockey fan just watched the San Jose Sharks win last night. My favorite player is Patrick Marleau, he is on fire.


  3. Hi Molly,

    My favorite hockey player is Jonathan Quick - the goalie for the Stanley Cup champs - Los Angeles Kings

  4. GOOD MORNING MOLLY and welcome back to GLIAS. Not a huge fan of hockey, just didn't take off as fast here in the south. hehe But I like it and I don't mind watching it. What's not to like about those fast-moving hunks. But I do have a favorite team: The 1980 Miracle Team. I was mesmerized by every game I saw on TV.

  5. Hockey is my favorite sport. So glad the NHL lockout is finally over but it's sad that it is a shortened season. I don't have a favorite player but I do like the Canucks.

  6. I enjoyed the interview. Very funny. Favorite hockey player is Lake Erie Monsters rookie Andrew Agozzino.

  7. I can see why you're afraid of ice storms up there. Had my one and only car accident on that dang black ice in Scarborough. Nothing you can do when you get on that...

    I don't keep up with hockey at all. In fact I attended my one and only game in Toronto, Leafs against the Oilers. Can't even remember who won, though Gretsky was still playing so probably the Oilers.

  8. Great interview. :)

    Steve Yzerman! :) It's kind of funny since I am from Toronto and I am supposed to like the Leafs... but none of my favorite players are Leafs players...

  9. Don't have a favorite one.

  10. Does watching those Mighty Ducks movies count as liking hockey? :D J/k.. No seriously, the last time I saw a hockey game was when the Mighty Ducks, no excuse me, the Anaheim Ducks still had that wacky looking duck mask on their jerseys. (Err obviously - no favorite player lol)

    I adored Crazy Thing Called Love. It was a fabulous book!

  11. I don't follow hockey, so no favorite.

  12. I have quite a few "favorite" players from the teams I cheer for currently but probably one of my all-time favorites is Teemu Selanne since his days with the Jets 1.0. That guy is class all over.

  13. I can't pick favorites as there are so many I like. Just like I can't pick a favorite author. I think one of my first crushes was Bobby Orr, who just happens to be the same age as I am.

  14. I'm not a sports fan, but love sports heroes. Lol. Since I don't watch hockey I don't have a favorite player.

  15. I'm not hockey too, so don't have favorite

  16. Not much into sports but haven't read any sports books so that might change my mind.


    Have fun with Molly's books.