Friday, June 23, 2017

Double RITA Finalist Darcy Woods Visits with the Crew!

I'm thrilled to have my friend, Darcy Woods, joining the Crew today. She's a double 2017 RITA finalist for BEST FIRST BOOK and YOUNG ADULT Romance. Congratulations Darcy! Prosecco pouring for you. If you looking for her previous visit - click HERE.

Before we get to the juicy details-I want to make sure you know that Darcy is giving away one e-book for the International crowd and one paperback for a US only giveaway. :-)  
  Please make sure you comment and leave your email address for a chance to win.

MEET DARCY WOODS 

DARCY WOODS has held an eclectic mix of professions—from refueling helicopters for the U.S. Army to recharging bodies and spirits at a spa—but her most beloved career is being an author. She is addicted to happily-ever-after endings and finds all things metaphysical endlessly fascinating. She lives in Michigan with her husband and two tuxedo cats (who overdress for everything). SUMMER OF SUPERNOVAS is her double RITA®-nominated debut young adult novel.


THE STORY BLURB


Fans of Jennifer E. Smith and Jenny Han will fall in love with this heartfelt and humor-laced debut following one girl’s race to find the guy of her cosmic dreams.

When zodiac-obsessed teen Wilamena Carlisle discovers a planetary alignment that won’t repeat for a decade, she’s forced to tackle her greatest astrological fear: The Fifth House—relationships and love.

But when Wil falls for a sensitive guitar player hailing from the wrong side of the astrology chart, she must decide whether a cosmically doomed love is worth rejecting her dead mother’s legacy and the very system she’s faithfully followed through a lifetime of unfailing belief. 

Nan: I loved the book!  5 STARS!! And look at that pretty RITA emblem.



READ A LITTLE 
Here is a link to the sample chapter. AMAZON


BUY THE BOOK
Also, SUMMER OF SUPERNOVAS e-book is currently on sale (at an $8.00 savings!) for $1.99. Here is the Amazon link, but the sale applies to ALL e-tailers!  AMAZON


A LIGHTING ROUND OF Q&A WITH DARCEY WOODS
NAN: What’s something you’d like to tell your fans?
DARCY: When I hear from you my heart sings arias. When I hear from you and my story has resonated in some way, my heart sings arias worthy of the La Scala opera house in Italy! Because without you, my stories would have no home. No ears to hear them or eyes to read them. And without you, I’m not sure I’d have the courage to continue putting one word in front of the other—again and again. So THANK YOU for helping me live my dream! 

Here’s a sampling of some fan art, including a German teen’s incredible collage of the City of Carlisle where the book takes place, a US reviewer’s beautiful graphic drawing with quote, and an Italian book and fashion blogger’s gorgeous constellation-themed nails. See? This is why I’m a bottomless well of gratitude!  

Nan: That is so much fun. I am envious!

NAN:  Do you read reviews of your books? If so, do you pay any attention to them, or let them influence your writing?
DARCY:  I do! Or…I did at least in the early days of my debut release. Then I read a couple of especially awful ones—the kind that go from being a snarky review of your work, to a personal attack. So around the time I could taste the ash on my tongue from my eviscerated soul, I decided I was done. The price just became too high on my productivity. I mean, I could read a dozen wonderful five-star reviews, but that one nasty bugger seemed to have the ability to erase them all. And I refuse to give one person that kind of power! 

Nan: Way to go!

NAN: What has been your most rewarding publishing moment?
DARCY: Oh gosh, there have been so many, but I’ll narrow it down to two. The first biggie was when my ARCs went out and I received my first review. It was forwarded to me by a bookseller who runs a special program where teens get to read advance copies, and in turn, write reviews of them. Her name was Sophia. And I will never forget the last line of this thirteen year-old's review: “I laughed, I cried, and I never wanted the story to end!” Dear Lord I was reduced to an emotional mush ball!!! 

The second was something I was almost too afraid to hope to achieve—getting the RITA call. It was so surreal! I immediately began jumping on the couch while shrieking, giggling, and blubbering—simultaneously because I’m a multitasker. The RWA board member (Renee, I think?) sweetly interrupted me and said, “Darcy, I’m not done yet. I have more good news.” She then proceeded to tell me I was a double finalist. To say that I was inconsolably happy is a supreme understatement! My smile was roughly the size of Texas. 

Nan: Love the picture. And you deserve this honor!



NAN: What has surprised you the most about being published?! 
DARCY: How difficult it can be to find your readers! Are you guys nodding? If you’re not nodding, please email me every one of your secrets. 
Nan: Nodding here. Hoping you pick up a few new readers just from this post!



NAN'S GOTTA ASK: Which already filmed movie represents your writing style?

DARCY'S GOTTA ANSWER:  Bridget Jones's Diary! While there is humor, witty banter, and absurdity abound, at the core of the story (or movie, as it were) is a very real and accessible slice of humanity. Like that moment Bridget is heartbroken, sitting in the bathtub while crying and peeling off her false eyelashes from the night before? THAT. I seek the same balance of hilarity and heart in my own writing. 

FIND DARCY WOODS: 
Contact: woodswrite@gmail.com
Blogs: http://sweetheartsofya.com

Author Links:


Book Links:

DARCY WOODS WANTS TO KNOW: I LOVE book recommendations! What was the last book you read that made you laugh and feel all the feels?   

Comment and leave you email address for a chance to win one e-book for the International crowd and one paperback for a US only giveaway


Nan:  Thank you for hanging with the crew today, Darcy!  

Darcy's drawing will be open through Sunday - so please comment for a chance to win.

18 comments:

  1. Welcome Darcy! (Sorry about the late posting.)
    I am currently doing my RITA reads. They have been wonderful -- luckily I had read some already, because my Nook search tells me there are 67.Other than your fabulous book -- I have really loved THE BEAST and I think all the YAs! So well written.
    Thanks for joining the crew, today.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Yay on the double RITA final, Darcy! Pretty sure you're going to hear a bunch of Lucky 13s screaming and hollering when the finalists are introduced. That RITA emblem sure looks pretty on your already awesome cover.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Aww thanks, Sandy! The Luckies are truly the ultimate cheerleaders!!! Adore you guys! <3

      Delete
  3. For those who haven't read it yet, Summer of Supernovas is a super book! And, like that 13-year-old reviewer, I laughed, cried and didn't want it to end, too! It's filled with such swoon-worthy moments. So delighted it's a double finalist! As for other great books, I just finished Salt to the Sea, which is set in WW2 with a happy for some/horrible for others ending. And the one before that was Everything, Everything (I'm behind on my TBR shelf). Oh, and a really good, twisty one is Malice by Eileen Cook, about a girl accused of murder who has no memory of the event or what led up to it. Oh, and all of Nan's books, of course. Each one from the Fitzgerald House gets two thumbs up!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Speaking of ultimate cheerleaders, Bonnie! Oh, you sweet ray of sun, thank you for those generous praises!!! I read (and really adored!) EVERYTHING EVERYTHING, so I can say you're in for a treat with that one! <3

      Delete
    2. Meant to add an emphatic YES to Nan's books, too! She's a word wonder, isn't she?!

      Delete
  4. Darcy! Great post. I love the pics from your readers. To have your story resonate like that is amazing. And you might not have known you were going to final in the RITA but I sure did. Congrats!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. OMG, I've been blown away by the artistry of these readers! It's just beyond amazing! And YOU! Your unfailing belief has meant everything, my dear! xoxo

      Delete
  5. Thanks so much for having me, Nan! Always a treat to be here. And ooh...I'll have to add THE BEAST to my teeming TBR! :D

    ReplyDelete
  6. Congratulations on the double final, Darcy! I'll be there cheering for you with the Luckies. See you in Orlando.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you, Kay! Your cheers are so appreciated. See you next month! xo

      Delete
  7. I think you HAVE achieved that balance-- you're one of the very best writers I know! Can't wait to scream your name at the RITA ceremony next month! :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Darcy, the creative artwork from your readers is amazing. And so is your DOUBLE FINAL!!! I won't be in Orlando this year but I will be screaming and cheering for you from Ohio! I adored SOS and adore your special gift of hilarity and heart. Can't wait for more Darcy Woods!
    I just read Sally Thorne's THE HATING GAME and loved it for much the same reasons.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Oh my goodness, Amy, you sure know how to level a girl with a compliment!!! Especially knowing how much I love you and your wonderful writing! So excited to squeeze you IRL next month, my sweet! Thanks for commenting. <3

    ReplyDelete
  10. Miranda, you are just the loveliest and will be sorely missed at Nationals! :( So honored to be your Lucky Sister and be among such talent! Ooh! And I've heard THE HATING GAME is fantastic! Look forward to the read. :)

    ReplyDelete
  11. Robin Bielman's Talk British to Me gave me all the feels. There were some funny moments.
    kvmatlock(at)Gmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  12. can't think of any

    bn100candg at hotmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  13. Kim Matlock! You're the winner of SUMMER OF SUPERNOVAS! I will email both you and Darcy so you can connect. Thanks for stopping by! And thanks again Darcy for spending time on Get Lost in a Story!

    ReplyDelete